Cricket – “It’s So Very English”

“Cricket makes no sense to me. I find it beautiful to watch and I like that they break for tea. That is very cool, but I don’t understand it. My friends from the Lions tried to explain it, but I didn’t understand what they were talking about” – Misquote of Jim Jarmusch

OK I hold mt hands up and confess that I don’t enjoy playing cricket, I don’t understand it and I don’t enjoy watching it either, so I’m not quite sure why I went along to the social match against Castle Bromwich Cricket Club except to support my fellow Lions. But, then this wasn’t any normal cricket match, neither did the spectators behave in a way that I would expect cricket fans to act. But, then these weren’t any ordinary cricket fans, these were Lions and this wasn’t really Cricket as we know it, but a social event shared by two Castle Bromwich community groups.

I wasn’t alone in not playing. I wasn’t alone in not being totally focused on the cricket. I wasn’t alone in finding myself enjoying the occasion rather more than I expected. Our President spent her time knitting a hat for charity. Others enjoyed chatting in the glorious sunshine whilst those fit enough participated in the cricket.

Eric, on the other hand, being a keen sportsman,  enjoyed himself whilst playing, he was less keen though on the after effects when he found he couldn’t move or walk for a few days afterwards.

Tags: ,

Categories: Castle Bromwich Lions, Social

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

