Making Kindness Contagious

“A little thought and a little kindness are often worth more than a great deal of money” – John Ruskin

I sometimes think  there’s a flawed perception in our society that in order to make a difference  we have to do something really big, like solving world hunger, feeding the homeless or starting a charity. While these are all issues which need addressing, there are many small things which we can all do right here, right now, in our daily lives which will make a real difference in somebody’s life.

Before joining Castle Bromwich Lions I attended one of their drinks and nibbles evenings. I remember being told that being a Lion was about service and fellowship. It was this that resonated with me. Now I am a Lion, I often think about this and wonder whether we sometimes underestimate how important some of our small, seemigly insiginicant actions are in changing lives. At our community service meetings we spend some hours discussing possible projects and requests for support. One of the difficulties which we have as a club is identifying who to serve in our local community. It occurs to me that sometimes we serve just by being kind, and that it’s not alawys possible to identify the recipient of our service. Kindness is that smile and hello that brightens someone’s day, kindness is putting the wheelie bin out for somebody who struggles to do it, kindness is sharing the excess apples from your garden.

In my mind the great beauty of serving with kindness is that it has a ripple effect and our service is duplicated by others. At our last community service meeting, one of our members asked if anybody wanted any apples as his apple trees had produced a bumper harvest and he had more than he could use. With those he gave to me I made some apple cakes which my husband thoroughly enjoyed. We had more than sufficient cakes for our needs and I intend to pass some onto people who wouldn’t cook such treats for themselves. I’m sure that in handing out these apples at a meeting my fellow Lion would not have considered himeself to have been serving. But, in my mind that’s just what he was doing. He made a difference in my family’s life and I hope to pass that kindness on.

This morning, I was thinking about kind acts and about kind words, and how important it is that we do them, say them and hear them. Kindness can be contagious.  The smallest and simplest of acts of kindness can make a difference in someone’s life in a very big way. November 13th is National Kindness Day maybe it is something we should use as a catelyst to make kindness a conscious part of our day and to ensure that when we are the recipient of a random act of kindness we pass it on.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Castle Bromwich Lions, Membership

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

